top of page

Meet Peter & Maddy


When I first thought of writing this novel it was about 25 years ago. I was cleaining out my closet when I stumbled across an old shoebox. Among a few postcards, old high school photos and a few old boyfriend mementos there were cards and letters from friends, schoolmates and a boyfriend or two. And as I read through them. . . Peter began to take form.

I have been asked by my readers if Peter Michaels is indeed a fictional character or is there a glimmer of reality in it all and to be completely honest I have to say. . . (wait for it )

Peter is not completely fictional.

He is a combination or a morphed version of people I have known and yes my husband is one of them. Peter is my perfect "dream man" if I am going to reveal the truth.

Madeline Marsden, although a primary character takes a second seat to Peter in my novel. The true protagonist, hero, main character is Peter.

A few months after my book was published and made available, I received an email from a man in his sixties. Talk about a surreal moment, this was mine. I lost this email a few months back when my computer had a malfunction in which I lost hundreds of photos and information. Anywho, his email went something like this:

(Dear LMF,

When my wife approached me about your book and how she desperately wanted me to read it and did what every man's man would haved done, put it off. But after several weeks of nagging I folded like any one in love with their spouse would have.

I would never have dreamed that I would have been immersed so quickly into what I thought was "a chick book."

I found myself captivated with the story and most of all Peter. )

He then continued to tell me about himself. He was a retired architect. Yes you heard that right. An Architect. what are the odds? He said he had fallen in love with his wife in his early teens and they had been together ever since.

What touched me the most about his email was that he complimented me on writing in a male point of view. He said that I had captured not only Peter's voice but had succeeded to truly express the male point of view in my writing.

He also talked about how he enjoyed my love of architecture and how it was apparent throughout the story.

Now don't get excited, I really don't know much about architecture but I am trying to learn. I researched a few of my favorite architects when forming Peter's character and since then have devoured several architecture books. I can talk about transoms and arches and chat about restoring the period correct integrity of an old federal or a greek revival but I have a long way to go in being well versed in the art of architecture.

In closing the gentleman told me about the love he had for his wife and he confessed that he couldn't bare ever loosing her even after all these years and that's why Peter's story had resonated with him.

I loved that email and it was the first validation for me as a writer, author and newly published "newby" into the literary world.

I hope that you will pick up a copy of The Shoebox and fall in love with Peter and Maddy just as much as I have.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page